Supt. Ness: Homecoming 2018

Congratulations to the 2018 Homecoming Royalty, along with King Titus Seland and Queen Morgan Sikkink!  The 2018 Royalty includes: Seniors – Miranda Hoffman, Grace Metcalf, Sam Eggen, and Chase Strube; Juniors – McKenzy Braeger, Gretchen Davis, Hannah Hoffman, Tayson Ambuehl, Ethan Danner, and Eli Sorum; Sophomores – Anna Anderson, Ashlyn Fronning, Alexis Ouren, Dominic Aguilar, Brandon Brusven, and Ian Richards; and Freshmen – Olivia King, Talia Nelson, Hannah Polejewski, Jaxson Rohde, Ben Schierer, and Carter Thielke.

Dress up Days

One of the highlights of Homecoming week is to be able to dress a little crazy: Monochromatic Monday – Wear one color head to toe; Timber Tuesday – Flannel; Wilderness Wednesday – Camo or Blaze Orange; Tacky Tourist Thursday; and Friday is Maroon and Gold – Spirit Day.


On Monday evening, the Homecoming coronation was held in the KSS Auditorium. On Tuesday the Homecoming royalty visited the Pioneer Home, Broen Home, Mill Street, and Vets Home. The student council will dedicate and plant a tree in honor of this year’s homecoming royalty. Events on Tuesday included tennis and volleyball. Thursday events include the annual cross country meet at the golf course, tennis, boys soccer and swimming. On Friday, the Class of 2019 picture will be taken and Iron Man Volleyball Games and Powder Puff Game will be played – following by the 2 pm parade. The football game starts an hour earlier than usual (at 6 pm) vs Perham with the Field Show at halftime followed by the homecoming dance.

Hall of Fame Induction–Saturday, September 29

The public is invited to the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at Kennedy Secondary School Auditorium scheduled at 7 pm, Saturday, September 29 – there is no charge. Distinguished alumni being honored are Sherry Mjelde Landrud–Class of 1970 and Shannon McKenzie–Class of 1982.  Athletic Hall of Fame inductees include: Katie Weiss Hanneman–Class of 1993; Curt Reinan–Class of 1957; and Mike Hilley–Class of 1986.

Student Council Elected

Congratulations to the 2018-19 Student Council members! The High School Student Council members include: Seniors – Julia Swanson, Chase Strube, JB Sandahl, Amy Johnson, Morgan Sikkink, and Caleb Danielson; Juniors – Jade Zierden, Makenna Stenstrom, Chloe Nelson, Sabrina Fronning, Kaden Peterson, and Lexi McGary; Sophomores – Jack Uhrich, Anna Anderson, Sierra Hatlewick, Connor Ackerson, and Ryan Aanerud;  Freshmen – Ben Schierer, Hannah Polejewski, Ella Mayer, Grace Olson, and Andrew Johnson.

The Middle School Student Council includes: 8th Grade – Elliot Pribbenow, Joey Johnson, Jenna Carlson, Jordan Sitagata and Fatma Al Arbawi; 7th Grade – Josiah Vigesaa, Davis Shol, Ana Jyrkas, Grace Polejewski and Shane Zierden;  6th Grade – Beatrice Schierer, Tommy Erickson, Abby Gronwold, Marcus Maack, and Katie Baker; and 5th Grade – Eric Swanson, Emma Dirkman, Rachel DeBrito, and Atleigh Shol.

Alumni Band Performing by Scott Kummrow

It’s that time of year again! School is in full swing and we are preparing for Homecoming 2018! What better way to celebrate than joining current students, alumni and fellow staff Alumni Pep Band! It doesn’t matter if you haven’t played in months or years, you are all welcome to this fun activity. It can be a great time to reconnect.

This year’s game is at 6 pm so it bumps our timeline up. The schedule is as follows: 4 pm – Pregame practice; 5 pm – Head over to the football field; 5:30 pm – Start playing; 6 pm –  Game Starts (and you’re are finished once the game begins). You can register using this link: and email questions to