Supt. Ness: Stock market adventure

Each semester, Ethan Soland, our high school economics teacher, has his class participate in a stock market simulation that runs in “real-time” with the NYSE and the Nasdaq markets. Groups are given $100,000 of virtual money and seek to invest in companies that would improve their portfolios.  Students research companies, buy and sell daily, and follow their investments throughout the semester.  Even better, they have the opportunity to compete against other schools and groups throughout the state and nation.

This past semester, a group of Soland’s students (Ty Pearson, Dan Kowalski, Ryan King, Ryan Viger, and Jaden Beck) claimed first place in the regional rankings – earning over $23,0000 on their investments in just two and a half months! His students competed against over 50 teams from different schools in the state. Their constant attention to detail and determined effort earned them a $300 prize and some other “in-class” incentives along the way. They did an amazing job! The Stock Market Game is sponsored by Best Prep and the Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association (SIMFA) Foundation. Read more ›

Posted in Supt. Ness

Hutch Johnson talks weather with Adams students

Meteorologist Hutch Johnson visited Adams School today to talk WEATHER!

Posted in Adams School, Schools Tagged with: , ,

Supt. Ness: Spring jazz concert held

Spring Jazz Concert – Blues for Adeline

jazzLast Friday, the Spring Jazz Concert was a magical night for all those in attendance.  The Lakes Area Jazz group was an amazing start to the evening followed by the Middle School and Jazz I and II performances.  

The majority of songs performed that evening were written by the University of Minnesota Associate Professor and Director of Jazz Studies, Dean Sorenson.  Mr. Sorenson, who is a wonderful composer and player, also performed with the students.

The highlight of the evening was the premiere of “Blues for Adeline.” This piece was written by Mr. Sorenson in honor of Lee Leverson and the love of his life, wife Adeline.  Mr. Leverson started the jazz program (stage band) 50 years ago. Congratulations to the music program on another outstanding and memorable concert!

Gary Schuler’s Open House

A couple hundred students, staff and community members showed their support to Mr. Schuler at Saturday’s open house to honor him for his 46 years in education.  A large contingency of family surprised him as well. Mr. Schuler has spent the last 19 years in Fergus Falls as a teacher, coach and activities director. Read more ›

Posted in Supt. Ness

April 25, 2016 board minutes

The minutes of the April 25, 2016 school board meeting: Read more ›

Posted in Board meeting minutes, School Board

Post Prom 2016 info


Posted in High School, Kennedy Secondary School Tagged with:

Follow and Like us!

Link to our Facebook Page
Link to our Flickr Page
Link to our Pinterest Page
Link to our Twitter Page
Link to our Youtube Page

We’re Tweetin’

Mrs. Stortroen's second graders are having an exciting day: "An exciting day in our classroom! Our first chick...

About 11 hours ago via Facebook