Supt. Ness: National Honor Society

Congratulations to the 36 new inductees into the Fergus Falls High School’s National Honor Society (NHS) chapter.  The NHS held their annual Induction Ceremony at 7 pm, January 8 in the KSS Auditorium.  Elizabeth Abrahams, high school social studies teacher, is the advisor for our NHS chapter.

NHS President Nathan Zierden, Vice President Emma Uhrich, Secretary Alyssa Martin, and Historian Kate Kotschevar conducted the ceremony.  Following an introduction from President Zierden, the ceremony included the candle lighting ceremony, the induction pledge, a musical performance by Nathan Zierden, a message from Ethan Soland – high school social studies teacher, the presentation of certification by Principal Dean Monke, and closing remarks by Vice President Emma Urich.

NHS Pledge – I pledge myself to uphold the high purpose of the National Honor Society to which I have been selected. I will be true to the principles for which it stands; I will be loyal to my school; and will maintain and encourage high standards of scholarship, service, leadership, and character.

The NHS inductees are: Morgan Ackerson, Hailey Macheledt, Hailey Budke, Jadyn McKeever, Greta Christenson, Danielle Mortenson, Joseph Connelly, Nycole Mouritsen, Caleb Danielson, Isabella Nehk, Sam Eggen, Stefanie Nelson, Madysen Eklund, Emma Norgard, Emily Frigaard, Madelyne Oswald, Marinda Hauge, Lily Pearson, Seth Hexum, Anna Reard, Connor Hexum, John Sandahl, Madison Hubert, Titus Seland, Amy Johnson, Hallie Sheridan, Andrew Johnson, Morgan Sikkink, Julia Johnson Berit Skogen, Matthew Johnson, Chase Strube, Isabelle Kremeier, Julia Swanson, Angelique Lindgren and Madeline Trosvig.

Read More

Nursing Assistant students job shadow at Veterans Home

The Nursing assistant students were able to participate in a job shadow opportunity at the Minnesota Veterans Home last week. They were partnered with a Certified Nursing Assistant to learn more about the job duties and routines while engaging with the residents. Thank you to the Minnesota Veterans Home for the opportunity!

Nursing students job shadow at Vets Home

L-R: Makenna Stenstrom, Chloe Nelson, Sydney Anderson, Hannah Murphy, Karla Krebs, Kate Jaeger


KSS art students compete, excel in show at M-State

Twenty students from Kennedy Secondary School participated in an art show at M-State this week. Also participating were students from Hillcrest, Pelican Rapids, and Underwood.

Pieces were entered into one of 6 categories. Kennedy students did well in the competition, winning three of the six categories.

Rhiannon Garcia won the painting category with her impressionist style landscape. Hannah Johnson won the ceramics category with her Horsehair Raku piece. And Andrew Balken won the Drawing category with his scratch board work.

Each winner was honored at a reception at M-State hosted by Art Chair Lori Charest. The show was sponsored by Heart of the Lakes Gallery in Battle Lake. Each winner was awarded $50.